Skip Navigation Linkswtochair > WTO Chairs Programmes

 The WTO Chairs Programme (WCP) seeks to enhance knowledge and understanding of the trading system among academics, citizens and policy makers in developing countries by stimulating teaching, research and public debate on international trade and trade cooperation at the level of tertiary education and research institutions.

The WCP accords financial support for a period of four years to academic institutions, and facilitates continuous interaction between institutions and individuals associated with the WCP, including though an internet-based platform of services and products.  The WCP supports academic institutions and associated individual scholars from developing countries in the following areas: course preparation, teaching, research and information.  

Course Preparation and Teaching

The WTO seeks to systematize its support for the development and delivery of courses on trade policy and WTO-related matters in academic institutions.

Fostering Research

The WCP seeks to promote research focused on extending specialized knowledge and explaining the policy relevance of existing research. Institutions can support academic cooperation with other institutions of the WCP, in respect of possible joint research, cooperation arrangements on lecturing and visit exchanges.

Encouraging and building outreach/communication

The organization of public activities aimed at disseminating research and information, and promoting discussions regarding international trade and trade cooperation is another dimension of the WCP.

Objective of the WCP

The ultimate objective of the WTO Chairs Programme is to strengthen the human and institutional capacities of universities from developing countries to support governments in the formulation of sound trade policies. The programme also seeks, through the Chairs, to support and facilitate the involvement in the process of other relevant stakeholders, such as the private sector, non-state actors and civil society. Policies that are understood and supported by the public at large are far more likely to succeed than those that are simply imposed, whether by internal or external decision-makers.

The WTO -Chairs members:

The fourteen (14) selected university/institutions are listed below:



Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales (FLASCO)

Valentina Delich

Instituto Tecnologico Autonomo de Mexico (ITAM)

Bradly Condon

Mohammed V University- Souissi

Ghoufrane Azzedine

Shanghai Institute of Foreign Trade (SIFT)

Lei Zhang

St Petersburg State University

Sutyrin Sergei

University Cheikh Anta Diop

Aly Mbaye

Universidad de Chile

Dorotea Lopez Giral

Universitas Gadjah Mada

Riza Noer Arfani

University of Jordan

Taleb Awad Warrad

University of Mauritius

Tandrayen-Ragoobur Verena

University of Nairobi

Jasper Okelo

University of Namibia

Oliver C. Ruppel

University of the West Indies

Dana Marie Morris

Vietnam National University

Vu Quoc Huy

    Copyright © University of Jordan - Computer center